On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

HOW DID LIL WAYNE & SUPERHEAD BREAK UP? August 26, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment,Romance — Ryann Hayman @ 9:52 pm
Tags: ,


Lil Wayne talks, “A Milli” (the song and the album’s first week success) the haters, his trusty styrofoam cup, oh, and he breaks up with Karrine Stephans via email, HA!

Some love him, some hate him and some just comply with everything in between (Hate to love, Love to hate). Personally, for me, there hasn’t been a more interesting figure since, well, Dennis Rodman…lol! In the October Issue of XXL Magazine (the cover that continues to baffle me) has hit the newsstands and as my avid soundoff readers know, I love to give an early synopsis of what you’re about to encounter when you scoop your copy. Wayne’s interviews are always exceptional; drugs, sex, success, haters, and of course music are always the main course, but some how, some way, Dwayne applies his abnormal “out of this world” rhetoric which leaves most, not all, still confused as to who this dude really is.

Enough of the opening speeches, let’s get to the dirt. Haters, rap beef, success….it’s all there…oh and Karrine Stephans goes through withdrawl during the BET Awards…. CLASSIC!

On Selling 1 Million albums his opening week….

“It’s just like saying you have 1 million dollars in the bank. But somebody putting that million dollars in front of in all cash–it’s a big difference. That’s what it felt like. It really shows you, and gives you a personal sense of your hard work, when you see them checks and what the numbers say on that. That’s when you know, Yeah, I’ve been working hard and I deserve this…..”

On not sounding like the conventional New Orleans rapper….

“I felt I took that turning point from the day that I started rhyming, ’cause when I got with Cash Money–and you can ask them—I rapped those songs because they made me rap like that. They used to do interviews and say that Wayne is the most un-New Orleans, New Orleans n*gga. Baby used to syay saying Wayne is better walking around in some Timbs and a backpack. Cause they favorite rappers were Soulja Slim, D.O.C. My favorite rapper at the time was Missy Elliot. She was stupid creative. Nobody could f*ck with her….”

On the smash hit, “A Millie” and everyone freestlying to it…….

“It’s glorious. I like every last one of them, too. I’ll let you in on a little secret: If you pay attention, I never say anothing about a mill but one time: “A million here, a million there” I just keep saying, “Muthaf*cka, I’m ill…” I thought that bi*ch was saying, “I’m illy”.

On not writing down his lyrics…..“I am what I say I am and what I do. Somebody asked me the other day, “Do you say what you mean and mean what you say?” “F*ck no. I am what I say”. If you are giving me the oppourtunity to mean what I say, then I can also not mean what I say….”

On whether or not his “drug” habits affect his work…….

“On a personal opinion, I say it don’t. Because sh*t–the work speaks for itself. As for why I do it: life, straight the f*ck up. There is no reason to be battering your body or yourself so close to death. But who am I to change life? I can’t even change mine. I will someday, if I get the chance. “

On not partaking in rap beef…

“My god didn’t send me here for that. My mom aint birth me for that. That’s not me. I’m not a confrontational dude….I’m the New Age artist. I don’t beef. I do the song, smile, do a few dance moves, put on the nice clothes, wear cologne. I don’t want my music to have to go towards how I feel about you or how I feel about your music. I’m dedicated to making your heart, making your mind feel a certain way when you hear me.”

On the haters….

“If you walk around thinking it’s pressure with muthaf*ckaz hating you, then you are the most pressure yourself. Hate is hate. You feel pressure by another person and that person ain’t God, you crazy. You shouldn’t even have mirros in your crib. You shouldn’t look at that wack muthaf*cka that’s inside you…”

Ok, that’s all I’m going to give you, but trust me, there is PLENTY more to dive into once you purchase the issue! Shouts to Datwon (Editor In Chief over at XXL Magazine) for the dope interview.

Oh but wait, I almost forgot the part where Karrine Stephans reveals the night Lil Weezie broke her poor little heart (HA!). Check this ish out. Words DIRECTLY from Karrine’s, “Playing With Fire” feature which dervies from her new book, The Vixen Diaries (slated for a June 2009 release)

“Tuesday, June 24th, the night of the awards, music executive Steve Rifikind hosts an altercation party at his house, just minutes from my own. I decided to go. On my way to the event, though, I am turned around by the news that Wayne is there already. I ache to see him, but my pride won’t let me show up. I hold in my tears and take the dark, winding drive back home. Nothing had ever come between us before–not the music, not the fame, not the women. Another week passes. I need closure. I send Wayne an email. “Please tell me it’s over” I write. Set my heart free and let me go. Tell me it’s over. Please.” His reply is damning and direct: “It’s over”

I know it’s alot to digest, but since I know most of you LOVE Wayne, you probably won’t mind doing so. The floor is open for discussion……..LET’S DO THIS, LOL!

 

Leave a comment