On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

CIARA ‘VERY UPSET’ OVER VIBE COVER September 27, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment — Ryann Hayman @ 4:29 pm
Tags:

R&B singer Ciara claims she was wearing underwear during the photo shoot for Vibe’s October cover, even though it looks as if she’s completely naked.           

      It’s “very, very upsetting and somewhat misleading,” she told MTV News of the photo.

 

      However, Vibe Editor-in-Chief Danyel Smith says not only was Ciara indeed fully naked for the shoot, but the whole thing was her idea.

 

       “I have so much respect for Ciara, and Ciara was so happy when she pitched this idea to us, and the photos are actually striking and beautiful,” Smith said during an interview with New York’s KISS-FM. “It was pitched to me in a way that it was time [for her] to grow up and be beautiful and be free and be all the things she wanted to be.”

 

       Ciara says the intent of the photo shoot – as far as she was concerned – was to celebrate the human form. At the end of the session, she walked away believing everything had gone great. It wasn’t until she saw the photos weeks later that she realized something was missing.      

       “When I saw the pictures, that wasn’t what was discussed or what we were going in to do, so that definitely bothered me,” she told MTV. “I think the body is something beautiful, and I wanted to celebrate that. And unfortunately, it wasn’t exactly what it was in the photo shoot, and I’m looking forward to moving forward.”

 

      Ciara says she will not pursue any legal action against the urban publication.

 

       “I think, at this point, I’d rather just be quiet about things such as that but I definitely want to make it clear that I was going in to do something artistic, and I was upset that when I saw the photos, everything was gone,” the singer told MTV.

 

Leave a Reply

