On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

SERENA WILLIAMS LOSES IN STUTTGART October 3, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment — Ryann Hayman @ 2:51 pm
Tags:

Serena Williams was bounced out of the WTA tournament in Stuttgart, Germany and puts her world number one ranking in jeopardy with a loss to China’s Li Na 0-6, 6-1, 6-4.

 

      After overwhelming Na in the first set, Williams said her game slowly began to unravel.

 

       “I just started to make a lot of errors,” she admitted afterwards. “I pretty much gave it to her, it was like I said: ‘Here you go, you have a win today’.”      

       “Maybe I started to doubt myself, I made a lot of mistakes which helps her cause,” she added. “She played really well, especially in the third set where she just fought for everything. I am disappointed I lost today, especially so soon in the tournament.”      

       With the loss, Williams’ number one ranking may go to nearest challenger Jelena Jankovic.

 

       “To be quite honest I don’t deserve it playing like that,” said Williams. “But I guarantee I will get it back.”

 

      In the Olympics, Li Na lost to Russia’s Dinara Safina in the semi-finals after having beaten Serena’s sister Venus in the quarter-finals.

 

Leave a Reply

