On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

The Wrong Kind Of Break Up October 8, 2008

Filed under: Romance — Ryann Hayman @ 4:27 pm
Tags: , ,

What initially started off as a regular morning for Tonya, quickly spiraled out of control without any warning. As soon as she arrived at work, she logged on to instant messenger, as she always did, to chat with her significant other. Suddenly, things between the two of them took an unexpected turn for the worse.

The Conversation

10:40am Tonya: Hey, how is your day going?

10:41am John: It’s going. No complaints. You?

10:43am Tonya: I’m lost in a pile of paperwork. Mondays are always the worse. At least I’ll get to see you tonight, so I can forget about all of this madness.

10:45am
John: I feel you…

10:46am Tonya: But enough about that, where do you want to go to dinner tonight?

11:30am Tonya: You there?

11:52am John: Yeah I’m here. I don’t think I can go to dinner tonight.

11:53am
Tonya: Oh ok. Everything ok?

12:01pm John: Not really.

12:02pm
Tonya: What’s wrong?

12:05pm John: I don’t think I can do this anymore.

12:06pm
Tonya: What do you mean by “this”

12:08pm John: Us. I don’t think I can be with you anymore.

12:10pm
Tonya: WTF? Are you seriously trying to break up with me over instant messenger? I thought you had more respect for me than that?

12:12pm John: I do. And that’s why I don’t want to waste your time anymore. I respect you too much to string you along anymore. You deserve so much more than I could give you.

12:15pm
Tonya: I can’t believe this…

The Fly Guy Response: I can’t believe it either. But sadly, this reality occurs all too often. There are both men and women, who when faced with the task of having to end a relationship, look for the easy way out of the situation. Some send text messages. Some, as in this instance, do it over email or instant messenger. Others take it a step further, and just disappear, never to be heard from again. In my opinion, all acts are in fact cowardly. But with all of that being said … and I hate to keep driving this point home, it happens all the time. Which brings me to my Fly Question of the Day.

Fly Questions of the Day:

Have you ever broken up with someone in a less than respectable way? If so, what did you do?

If faced with a similar circumstance, would you do it again?

On the flipside, have you ever been the victim of a shady breakup. If so, how did they break the news?

 

Leave a Reply

