On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

Rick Ross admits corrections officer past; Brazilian duo taps Kanye, Ghostface; Bill Bellamy’s ‘Jokes’ returns to TV One October 10, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment — Ryann Hayman @ 1:24 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

For what it’s worth, Rick Ross has finally come clean about working as a corrections officer in Florida for 18 months before pursuing his musical career. “Yes, it’s me. I never tried to hide my past,” he told Don Diva magazine. “I put my name inside my C-Ds. My company has my [social security number]. I could’ve put a company name … I never ratted on a [ni**a]. I never prosecuted a [ni**a]. I never locked up a [ni**a] … When I’m making my music and I’m talking about blow, it’s because I did it. When I say that I’m rich off cocaine, it’s because I did it.”

      *Kanye West, Ghostface Killah, Method Man, Chuck D and George Clinton are among the guests appearing on the debut album of Brazilian-influenced duo N.A.S.A. (which stands for “North America / South America”). Due Feb. 17, “The Spirit of Apollo” also boasts appearances from M.I.A., Santogold, the late Ol’ Dirty Bastard and dancehall star Sizzla. N.A.S.A. is planning to tour in the near future with “dancers, visual effects, art installations and special guests,” a spokesperson told Billboard.

 

       *”Bill Bellamy’s Who’s Got Jokes?” returns to TV One for its third season on Saturday, Oct. 11 from 10-11 p.m. This spring, TV One, Bellamy and producer FarCor Studios hit the road in search of the hottest rising comics in the U.S., who are competing to be crowned “Jokes” champion later this year. The show went overseas for the first time for the semi-finals. Working in conjunction with the USO, the cast headed to Germany to tape the show in front of soldiers and their families stationed at the U.S. Army Garrison Kaiserslautern, home of the largest military community outside the U.S.  

 

Leave a Reply

