On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

HEAVY D GETS IRIE ON NEW CD October 15, 2008

Filed under: Hip Hip — Ryann Hayman @ 2:13 pm
Tags:

       “Vibes” currently owns the No. 2 spot on the iTunes Reggae chart, propelled by the top-requested single and digital favorite, “Long Distance Girlfriend.”       

       The album is currently available in digital-only format. The physical album will be released on Dec. 16.       

       Born in Jamaica, Heav’s family moved to Mount Vernon, NY when he was 8, but the artist never lost his love for the music of his childhood.       

       “Reggae’s the first music I ever experienced,” he says. “I’ve always mixed reggae and hip hop. But I came to a point where I felt I had put the exclamation mark on my hip hop career. I’m fortunate that I’ve been able to transfer the love, respect and passion I have for hip hop and reggae into my latest musical endeavor.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

