On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

Oprah’s Tina Turner dinner; ‘Big Momma’s House 3’; Mowry twin considers ‘Dancing’; Tyler Perry on ‘TV One on One October 22, 2008

Oprah Winfrey hosted a dinner for Tina Turner following her concert last week in Chicago. Tom Cruise showed up for the soiree at the Peninsula Hotel with his son Connor, according to the New York Post. Winfrey was reportedly excited that Turner introduced her to the concert crowd as “my best girlfriend.”

 

       *While conducting interviews for the new Bernie Mac/Samuel L. Jackson comedy “Soul Men,” producer David Friendly announced that he’s currently working on a third film in the “Big Momma’s House” franchise. Friendly said FOX is fast-tracking the project and hopes to have it in theatres for 2009. The first two films starred Martin Lawrence as a cop who goes undercover as an overweight grandmother.

 

       *E! Online spoke with former “Sister, Sister” costar Tamera Mowry about chances she would ever do a reality show. “I’ve been asked to do ‘Dancing With the Stars,’ and I’ve thought about the possibility, but I’m so afraid,” Mowry said. “It’s so terrifying to go out there and learn all those dances. My boyfriend, my boyfriend’s dad and my sister all tell me to go after it, but there’s no way you’re going to see me on there anytime soon, because it just scares me. I’ve heard it’s really hard on the body, and I think I would just cry all the time. Maybe in two or three years I would be willing to give it a try.”

 

       *TV One viewers can get a behind-the-scenes tour of Tyler Perry’s new studio as well as learn more about his childhood, his creative successes and his road to forgiveness when he talks with Cathy Hughes on “TV One on One,” Sunday, Oct. 26 at 10 p.m., repeating at 1 a.m. (all times ET).

 

Leave a Reply

