On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

VENUS WINS SONY ERICSSON TOURNAMENT November 10, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment — Ryann Hayman @ 12:17 pm
Tags: ,

 

Venus Williams won the WTA Tour’s year-end event for the first time by beating Vera Zvonareva 6-7 (5/7), 6-0, 6-2 during Sunday’s final of the Sony Ericsson championships.      

       Near the end of the match in Doha, the capital city of Qatar, she collapsed on the ground and began crying, apparently because of the exhaustion that was affecting her ground strokes, reports AFP.      

       “It was a hard fought match right down to the end,” said Williams, who went into the match still drained from beating world number one Jelena Jankovic the previous day. “I am so excited. I wanted it so bad.”

 

      Meanwhile, Serena Williams withdrew from Sony Ericsson with a stomach muscle injury that may have occurred during her round robin loss to Venus 5-7, 6-1, 6-0 on Thursday.

 

       “I had zero pain last night,” Serena said of her post-match experience. “But I didn’t serve well and I think that’s why I was doing that. I might have been over-compensating.      

       “When I got home I didn’t feel pain. But when I woke up I was in pain. I have had this before and so when I felt this it was like a red flag. I went to see how I felt in practice yesterday, and it was hard when I was hitting ground strokes. I didn’t want to risk it.”      

       Serena was challenged by a British journalist who suggested that sometimes in a major tournament such as this she should play through the pain for the sake of the event and for the sponsors.      

       “I think what I should do is make you work out, have a severe stomach strain and play for the sponsors,” she chided. When the journalist suggested he would have, Serena responded with satirical laughter, adding: “You really should. You should go for it and live the dream!”      

       Later she explained: “I had this once in LA and played through it and I was out for six to eight weeks. So when I had these symptoms I thought I must start the New Year well. I can’t afford to be out for so long.”

 

Leave a Reply

