On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

Stat Quo Leaves Shady Records November 21, 2008

Filed under: Hip Hip — Ryann Hayman @ 10:35 am
Tags: , , ,

 

If you’re not Dr. Dre, 50 Cent, or Eminem they’re not really trying to put your album out”

When asked how many release dates he had during his time at the label, the rapper quipped, ‘That’s like sayin’ how many kids Shawn Kemp got?’

Seemingly forever Stat Quo has been plugging his unreleased albumStatlanta, even going so far as to visit publications to play the goods. But as of this week, the Atlanta rapper is not only album-less, but he’s also without a label. 

“I’m no longer down with Shady/Aftermath,” Stat Quo, who signed to the label in 2003, told Sixshot. “I wasn’t really seeing my career move at the rate that I wanted it to. I didn’t see an end in sight in terms of a release date for my album.” 

The rapper says that besides being on label projects like the Re-Up, he got no love. 

“If you’re not Dr. Dre, 50 Cent, or Eminem they’re not really trying to put your album out and I can understand that with the music business being the way it is. It was just my time to go.” 

Stat says his album was supposed to have dropped “three and a half years ago.” When asked how many release dates he had during his time at the label, the rapper quipped, “That’s like sayin’ how many kids Shawn Kemp got?” 

Stat, who is currently just releasing mixtape music now, says that he’s not bitter about the split.

“I’m not mad, I’m good. I thank [Eminem and Dr. Dre] for everything they did for me. I think that’s some ho ass shit when somebody leaves a team and then talks shit about them. That’s not my style.”

 

Leave a Reply

