On the record magazine

Urban News, Hip Hop, R&B, Poetry, Love Advice

Suspicious Dating Patterns- Vol. 1 December 12, 2008

Filed under: Romance — Ryann Hayman @ 11:57 am
Tags: ,

 

Periodically, I’m going to share with you some red flag behavior that should make you think twice about diving into deeper relational waters with a potential significant other. Let’s call this section “The Behavior Police.” First up, we have a disturbing pattern of behavior that I’ve seen in some men (I was actually guilty of this offense once upon a time.)

So here’s the scenario:

The two of you are on the phone enjoying a nice “get-to-know-you” session. As the conversation starts to really get good, he ends things abruptly by saying, “Hey, I just pulled up to my house. Let me call you back after I get settled.”

The Fly Diagnosis:

Now maybe he doesn’t like to talk and unlock the door at the same time. (Hey it happens.) Or perhaps his voice-activated alarm system might trigger if it picks up your voice through the receiver (even more unlikely.) No matter what the case may be, his behavior is suspicious. If it happens on a fairly consistent basis, then you’re more than likely dealing with a guy who has a secret on the other end of the door (i.e. girlfriend, wife, mother, halfway house desk attendant.) Whatever his reality, just know that it’s something that he’s trying to keep from you.

Am I trying to instigate a confrontation between the two of you? Absolutely not. But I wouldn’t be doing my job if I failed to share with you some of the early warning signs that you need to be aware of.

Stay tuned for next week’s edition of “The Behavior Police” as I call out some suspicious behavior by women.

**If you have any anonymous tips for the BPD (Behavior Police Department) then email them to flyguychronicles@gmail.com. Remember: we’re here to protect and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

